Our 39 Historic Counties

The Nation of England was first formed, in the manner we understand today, as a union of 39 sovereign entities – our Historic (or Ancient) Counties – in the Domesday Book of 1087. These counties are the soil upon which we live, work and make our lives and it is to these entities we must return in order to hold the correct political status which allows us to bring our public servants back into check.

It is important to note, at this point, that our Historic Counties are fundamentally different from either Administrative or Ceremonial Counties and exist entirely within the realm of the Law of the Land. Making this distinction is essential to ensuring your return to the actual, factual Land and Soil of the English Counties and we ask that you check your postcode using https://wikishire.co.uk/lookup/ to confirm your location with regards to our Historic County Boundaries.

We the People – in the tradition of our history – affirm, assert and formally declare our Ancient Historic Counties as being the “de jure” structure of our Land and Soil, as per the Counties (Detached Parts) Act 1844.

“The terms “shire” and “county”, sometimes used in conjunction with such adjectives as “historic”, “ancient”, “traditional” or “geographical”, refer to the 86 areas of ancient origin which for centuries have formed, and continue to form, a commonly agreed way of referring to the different parts of the country; our basic geography and reference, used for many personal, social and cultural purposes and in spheres like business and trade, tourism, sport and the delivery of mail. In England, Rutland, Lincolnshire, Somerset and Yorkshire are examples; in Scotland, Fife, Clackmannanshire and Argyll; in Wales, Glamorgan, Caernarfonshire and Pembrokeshire.”

Map of the distinctions between Local Authorities and our Historic County known as Cheshire

For more information on the distinctions between Ancient/Historic Counties, Administrative Counties and Ceremonial Counties (Lieutenancy Areas) and much more please see https://britishcountyflags.com